February 3, 2009

New Year’s Resolutions

Posted in Uncategorized at 1:09 pm by The Word Jar

I made two New Year’s resolutions this year, and both of them led me to starting this blog. Resolution #1: Read more. Resolution #2: Write more. If I was going to write consistently, I knew I had to write about something I loved. I thought of a book review blog.

I know there are plenty of book review blogs out there, but I also know there is always room for more. With the major newspapers decreasing book review space (or getting rid of it) and an endless stream of new books hitting the bookshelves, the responsibility falls to book lovers to spread the word about worthy books or warn fellow readers not to waste their time.

I did not set specific goals for my resolutions, although I’ve always thought that finishing one book a week is an admirable goal. I’m already behind that rate, having read only two books in January, but I’m not worried. The same goes for writing. In a perfect world, I’d like to post one entry a day. That won’t always happen. But now I have a venue for my thoughts and writing, so I have taken the first step to keeping my resolutions.

So, for Resolution #1: Read More, I’ll grade myself with a half check mark at this point. The same for Resolution #2: Write More.

Now that February is here, how are you doing with your resolutions?

Leave a Reply

