March 31, 2009

Teaser Tuesday—March 31

Posted in Book Talk tagged , , , at 7:17 am by The Word Jar

Teaser Tuesdays

Teaser Tuesdays asks you to:

* Grab your current read.
* Let the book fall open to a random page.
* Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.

You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from…that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

Please avoid spoilers!

My teaser this week comes from Breathers by S. G. Browne.

Midnight is fast approaching and I’ve got one good arm and one good leg and I’m about to use myself as bait to try to get Tom’s right arm back. But my common sense is countered by a growing need for justice, for the retrieval of Tom’s appendage and retribution against those who took it.

My reading direction takes yet another turn this week, and oooh, I’m excited for this one! According to the back cover, Breathers is a “rom-zom-com” (romantic zombie comedy). The best of two very different worlds. I’m only a few pages into it, and I’ve already chuckled quite a bit. Zombies need love, too…right?

(Teaser Tuesday is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Check it out for more teasers!)

10 Comments »

  1. kaye said,

    does this book involve dismemberment? great teaser

    • thewordjar said,

      Oh, yes, it does! What would a zombie novel be without it?? 🙂 Within the first three pages we have dismemberment. At least, “discovered” dismemberment. Breathers is quite the fun read so far!

  2. MOG said,

    This sounds intriguing.

  3. bookfan said,

    Good heavens! Good teaser : )

  4. stacybuckeye said,

    Sounds like fun 😉

  5. Kaye said,

    Yowzer! What the hey is that all about? Not too sure i would want to venture into limb retrieval myself, but to each his own. Here is my teaser

    • thewordjar said,

      Unfortunately, limb retrieval can be a very necessary part of a zombie’s life. What’s a zombie to do?

  6. Alyce said,

    That is so weird! I just read one of the other comments though and realized it’s a zombie book, so that makes more sense. 🙂

    Here’s my post.

    • thewordjar said,

      I think I should have put the “rom-zom-com” description before the teaser! For a non-zombie book, this teaser could seem a little gruesome. But for a zombie book, it’s just another day in the world of the undead.

  7. You had me at Rom-Zom-Com!

    Thanks for stopping by Scobberlotch. I like YOUR blog title, too. Very cool.

    Karen


Leave a Reply

