April 14, 2009

Teaser Tuesday: April 14

Posted in Book Talk tagged , , , , at 7:32 am by The Word Jar

Teaser TuesdaysTeaser Tuesdays asks you to:

* Grab your current read.
* Let the book fall open to a random page.
* Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.

You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from…that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

Please avoid spoilers!

My teaser this week comes from The Various Haunts of Men by Susan Hill.

This room, with these bodies, these instruments, this smell of formaldehyde and antiseptic overlaying the smell of decomposition, was where I had wanted to be for so long, this was the focus of my dreams and the end of so many years of work. I have never got over the thrill of it, the feeling of a dreadful excitement; the sense of power. A body in a dissecting room seems so far removed from life it might never have had anything to do with life at all.

Three sentences, I know, but I feel the third sentence really brings out the creepiness of the section.

(Teaser Tuesday is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Check it out for more teasers!)

8 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    Oooooh! That’s a good one!

    My teaser is here.

  2. csbhagya said,

    Good teaser! I’m reading Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s Love in the Time of Cholera. A wonderful book.
    Here’s my teaser.
    http://csbhagya.wordpress.com/2009/04/14/teaser-tuesdays-5/

  3. Lisa said,

    I can almost smell the formaldehyde! Who would love that job?? Great teaser!

    • thewordjar said,

      A very creepy and bad man likes that job. (At least I’m assuming it’s a man…that hasn’t really been established yet!)

  4. Nise' said,

    Great teaser.

  5. Kaye said,

    Creepy it is! Yow!

    My teaser is here

  6. Wendi B said,

    Great teaser, but what a place to WANT to be!

    Here’s my Teaser from The Red Leather Diary! ~ Wendi

  7. Very cinematic. I like it!


Leave a Reply

