February 16, 2010

Teaser Tuesday: February 16

Posted in Book Talk tagged , , , , , at 6:22 pm by The Word Jar

Teaser Tuesdays asks you to:

* Grab your current read.
* Let the book fall open to a random page.
* Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page.

You also need to share the title and author of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from…that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

Please avoid spoilers!

This week I’m back in the world of Ernest Hemingway, one of my favorite authors. I’m diving into one of his lesser known books, The Torrents of Spring.

KEEP OUT. THIS MEANS YOU

Can that mean me? Scripps wondered. He knocked on the door and went in.

Apparently Scripps decides this doesn’t mean him. Scripps is a very odd character, and I’m eager to see what this situation is and what becomes of it.

According to the back of the book, The Torrents of Spring is “a hilarious parody,” but I cannot reconcile “hilarious” with “Hemingway.” Since it’s such a short book, I may have to read it through again to make sure all the hilarity sinks in.

(Teaser Tuesday is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Check it out for more teasers!)

2 Comments »

  1. Did you like A Farewell to Arms? I read it ages ago, and I wasn’t hooked until the very end. I think it was one of the best last pages of a book I’ve ever read.

  2. thewordjar said,

    You caught me. I haven’t read A Farewell to Arms yet. Although I’ve seen the movie, I still want to read it, because when is the movie ever better than the book? But your comment did send me to the book to at least read the last section. And you’re right…that is a great last page and classic Hemingway–“it wasn’t any good.” Reminds me of his short stories.


Leave a Reply

