August 10, 2010

Teaser Tuesday: August 10

Posted in Book Talk tagged , , , , , at 10:23 am by The Word Jar

Teaser Tuesdays asks you to:

* Grab your current read.
* Let the book fall open to a random page.
* Share with us two “teaser” sentences from that page.

You also need to share the title and author of the book that you’re getting your teaser from…that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

As always, please avoid spoilers!

*   *   *   *   *

She grew absolutely ashamed of herself. Of neither Darcy nor Wickham could she think without feeling that she had been blind, partial, prejudiced, absurd.

This teaser is from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I was never required to read this book in school, and I’ve always secretly felt like everyone in the world has read this book except for me. English major guilt (so many books, so little time), added to the fact that it seems like a book I’d love, if only I could get through it. I’ve started it countless times, but for one reason or another, I’ve never been able to finish it. This time, however, something clicked, and I’m being swept up in the tale and, yes, loving it! Elizabeth, Darcy, Pemberley, the sisters—all grand!

I’ll be sure to announce it from the top of the world when I finish.

Is there a book (classic or not) that you feel like you should read but, for whatever reason, can’t seem to slog your way through it?

5 Comments »

  1. Chotti said,

    Don’t worry, I haven’t read it either. I’ve enjoyed the movie, but I think one of these days I’ll need to read the book. Hope you enjoy it!

    My teaser can be found here

    • The Word Jar said,

      After a few false starts at P&P, I did watch the movie, hoping that maybe seeing a visual of the story would help me get into the book. I remember enjoying the movie, but honestly, nothing about the story really stuck with me.

      This time, as I finish parts of the book, I’m allowing myself to enjoy the BBC P&P miniseries. Now *that* I’m getting into. Colin Firth gets me every time.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I tried to read Mrs. Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf. I really wanted to read it, too. I’m sure I’ll give it another go.

    I did read Pride and Prejudice, and recall enjoying it. But that was umpteen years ago. I should reread it.

    Here’s my teaser:

    http://rainysnowday.wordpress.com/2010/08/10/teaser-tuesdays-19/

    • The Word Jar said,

      Ooh, Mrs. Dalloway is also glaring at me from my bookshelf, waiting to be read. Such a stern lady. I haven’t even attempted that one yet. Someday.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Pride & Prejudice is a delight- I’m glad you like it so far!


Leave a Reply

