May 31, 2011

Teaser Tuesday May 31: Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante

Posted in Book Talk tagged , , , , at 9:00 am by The Word Jar

Teaser Tuesdays asks you to:

* Grab your current read.
* Let the book fall open to a random page.
* Share with us two “teaser” sentences from that page.

You also need to share the title and author of the book that you’re getting your teaser from…that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

As always, please avoid spoilers!

*   *   *   *   *

“There is some connection here, something that tickles about this man and this particular piece. History.”

As with last week’s teaser, the book from which this teaser is taken deals with memory loss. Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante features a main character who is dealing with the onset of Alzheimer’s. Dr. Jennifer White is retired after a successful career as a surgeon, but now she is a person of interest in her best friend’s murder. She doesn’t remember that her friend has been murdered, and some days she doesn’t even remember her friend at all.

Dr. White is the first-person narrator for the novel, which provides for an unsettling read. I’ve only just started the book, but already it gets uncomfortable as Dr. White fights through bad days when she doesn’t recognize her children or the stranger (her caregiver) in the house. Then she has good days, when she does remember her best friend, and she is at turns outraged that she was murdered and frustrated that she was so helpless to do anything about it.

Dr. White as the narrator could prove interesting as the story moves along. How reliable can the narrator be if she is in the grips of Alzheimer’s? How does that potential unreliability affect the story? I’ll just have to wait and see.

What are you reading this week?

(Teaser Tuesday is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Check it out for more teasers!)

9 Comments »

  1. Amanda said,

    Interesting teaser! Makes me wonder what the item is.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Amanda

  2. Popin said,

    I’ve been seeing this book pop up a few times, but never knew what it was about. Sounds interesting though, I’ll have to add it to my tbr list.

    ~ Popin
    Check out my teaser here

  3. Shirley said,

    It’s sure to be a fascinating read. I’d be interested to know how this one goes. My grandmother had Alzheimers and I watched her decline over the years, thinking it must be truly frightening for the individual and their loved ones to go through.

    Teaser Tuesdays at My Bookshelf

    • The Word Jar said,

      Thanks for stopping by! My grandmother hasn’t been officially diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, but she has progressive dementia. The hardest thing so far (for loved ones) was her not realizing she was attending her son’s funeral. As I said in my post, the first-person narrative of someone going through this decline is really unsettling.

  4. Oh, this one sounds awesome! Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

  5. This does sound fascinating. Have you read Still Alice? One of my favorites.

    • The Word Jar said,

      I haven’t read this yet. I’ll have to add it to my stack of memory-loss-oriented novels (current tally, including Still Alice: 5). Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  6. Alzheimer’s disease is a fascinating subject to me. Thank you for posting this teaser. I’ll definitely read this book.
    My teaser is here: Sandy’s Teaser

  7. Wonder what the connection is that she can’t remember.

    Here’s ours: http://ourstack.blogspot.com/2011/05/tuesday-teaser-chosen-one-and-if-you.html


Leave a Reply

