June 4, 2012

Let the Armchair BEA-ing begin!

Posted in Interviews tagged , , , , at 6:15 pm by The Word Jar

Welcome, fellow Armchair BEA-ers, to The Word Jar!

If you happened to land on my blog and you aren’t an Armchair BEA-er, let me explain. In NYC this week there is a wonderful event called BookExpo America, celebrating (and promoting) all things books. BEA is a convention of publishers, authors, reviewers, book industry gurus, and other book lovers. Alas, not everyone can make it to New York for a week, so Armchair BEA was created to help more people participate and catch up on the industry goings-on this week.

Today, we Armchair BEA-ers are to introduce ourselves to everyone else, so let the games begin! (It really feels like I should add, “May the odds be ever in your favor!” at this point, but perhaps that’s a bit much.)

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?
My name is Jessica, and I’ve been blogging since 2009. But I’m horribly inconsistent. I can go months without posting (not that I’m not thinking of and writing posts constantly). My problem is that I’m an editor by trade, so I tend to revise an entry to death before I post it. That process becomes lengthy and disheartening, and then I just end up not posting anything. I got into blogging because I wanted a place to post some book reviews and discuss wordy subjects and publishing trends. But instead of being a good poster on my site, I get caught up in commenting on other blogs. It’s just so much easier to compose a short comment than write up a whole meaningful post.

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012?
I’m currently reading The Flame Alphabet by Ben Marcus and The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I’m a bit surprised by how much I’m enjoying The Flame Alphabet. My least favorite English course in college was Contemporary Literature. And I have looked forward to reading The Night Circus since BEA 2011. My reading list is kind of long. As for my favorite book of 2012 so far, that would be Stay Awake by Dan Chaon. Fascinating short stories.

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.
I’m not only a book nerd, I’m also a golf nerd. I competed in a national junior golf tournament when I was 11. I took sixth place. Please, hold your applause.

Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read?
I really should say that it’s my post about Ghost Burglar (the book I’m currently editing and promoting), but I really enjoy my hard-hitting exposé on house centipedes.

If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?
I’d have to choose Ernest Hemingway in Havana. He’d have some interesting tales to tell, and I’d love a good Cuban sandwich right about now. Or we could also rendezvous in Key West. He has a pretty awesome house there, and anything made with a key lime is fine by me.

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ve learned a little about me, and I look forward to visiting other Armchair BEA-ers and learning more about them. Happy BEA!

17 Comments »

  1. Stacy said,

    I love how Armchair BEA makes it possible to meet so many interesting people and to fall in love with new blogs! Your wry sense of humor is refreshing! Happy Armchair BEA Week and I look forward to getting to know you better – I’ve found a great new blog!

    • The Word Jar said,

      Thanks for stopping by, Stacy. This Armchair BEA thing is fun. Looking forward to reading more of your stuff, too!

  2. Lisa McGeen said,

    Nice to meet you! I hope you have a lot of fun this week!

    Lisa

    • The Word Jar said,

      So far so good, Lisa! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Danielle said,

    I love that every blog I’ve read so far started with the first question. Also, should we hold the applause or give a “golf clap”? sorry, cheesy joke.
    Anyway, I hope you enjoy The Night Circus and I look forward to your review, if you choose to post one.
    What’s like to be an editor? I thought about it for a while (after graduating college with a Business degree, of course)

    • The Word Jar said,

      Nice! Golf clap for sure, Danielle! I wish I had thought of that one!

      I love being an editor, thanks for asking. I’ve always loved doing jigsaw puzzles and weird things like finding Waldo, both of which are actually very applicable to book editing. You have to be able to see the whole picture and put the manuscript (“puzzle”) together coherently for developmental editing, while also seeing things that don’t quite belong (“Waldo”) for a thorough proofread.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. aartichapati said,

    Inconsistent blogging is fantastic, I think- no real pressure (except for editing, which could be bad) and the ability to be as flexible as you want. Glad you wrote this post, though, so I could be introduced to you 🙂

    • The Word Jar said,

      I like to think in terms of “quality, not quantity” when it comes to blogging. At least that’s how I console myself when I haven’t posted in months! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Oh, I’ve been wanting to read THE FLAME ALPHABET but haven’t had the time! THE NIGHT CIRCUS was my favorite novel of 2011! It made my writer’s heart hurt that I could never write anything nearly so beautiful! It’s amazing and I hope you love it, too!

    • The Word Jar said,

      If you enjoy contemporary literature, you should definitely check out The Flame Alphabet. And the writing in The Night Circus really is jealousy-inducing, thanks-for-killing-my-writing-dream good, isn’t it? I hope she has many more books up her sleeve!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. curlygeek04 said,

    Nice to meet you! I can understand the feeling of editing your posts too much, I sometimes do that too. I’ve always wished I was an editor, I’m glad you love your job. I enjoyed visiting your blog.

    • The Word Jar said,

      Thanks for stopping by! I hope to lift the stringent editing burdens I’ve placed on myself in order to write more content and keep some of you new readers coming back! 🙂

  7. I’ve heard wonderful things about The Night Circus, and keep seeing it pop up on people’s lists of favorite reads this year, so I’m pretty sure that ones the next on my list!
    Hope you have a great Armchair BEA week!
    Amanda

    • The Word Jar said,

      BEA is such a wonderful (awful??) time! You find so many books to add to that ever-growing reading list. I added The Night Circus during BEA 2011, and I’m just now getting to it. Woe, the problems I have!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. aartichapati said,

    The Receptionist sounds SO GOOD! I’m right there with ya- think it sounds way better than Real Housewives!

  9. Jenny said,

    I edit things like crazy too!! E-mails for work too. Yet I manage to always find things I did incorrectly when I read it back later. I was interested in reading The Flame Alphabet when it came out and haven’t yet. I haven’t seen any reviews yet (I’ve really limited the number of blogs I read) so I will look forward to your review!

  10. stacybuckeye said,

    I edit as little as possible or I’d never post anything! Very cool that you are such an accomplished golfer 🙂 I tried for a year or two and loved it, but my group played way to early for me and now that I’ve got a little one I don’t have the time. Maybe when he’s old enough to golf together!


Leave a Reply

